The Dangers of Internet Addiction

Internet Addiction

Social networking websites are fast becoming an increasing phenomenon in modern day society but they are not without their downfalls. Psychologists are now aware that Internet addiction is now recognised as a mental disorder which sits in the family of common compulsive-impulsive disorders. Excessive gaming, e-mailing and social networking are among the habits of a person with an internet addiction.

Websites such as Facebook and Twitter are used by millions around the world to stay in touch with family and friends. Celebrities have even emerged through these sites, for example, Lily Allen was made famous through a Myspace page which she created to gain publicity. Seeing her rise to fame has urged millions to follow in her footsteps. Twitter is a site which makes celebrities accessible; by logging in one can ‘follow’ celebrities and even message them directly. It is easy to see the appeal of such sites, but these can be equally as dangerous. Social networking sites have been in the news for many reasons; more often than not they are gaining bad press such as privacy issues, paedophilia problems and now addiction claims.

It has been reported recently that the children’s secretary of education, Ed Balls, is addicted to Twitter, and is even using it to post his stir fry tips. There’s no stopping him. He has even been caught on Twitter whilst in a meeting in the houses of parliament. Only yesterday, he was tweeting about his Sunday roast – ‘Sunday roast was fine, good gravy, yorkshire puddings rose – roast potatoes a bit soggy because of the hour resting time… Election?’[1] So he knows all too well about the risk of teenagers developing an addiction known as ‘Internet Addiction Disorder’ which is now recognised amongst psychologists.

Those suffering from an internet addiction can experience cravings, urges, and even withdrawal symptom when they are away from the internet. They can crave more and better equipment and software, or more and more hours online. Severe internet addicts can lose all track of time or even neglect basic needs such as eating or sleeping and not to mention important everyday tasks such as school work or household chores.

Leigh Green, 21, a chef from Retford, South Yorkshire, is no stranger to these symptoms. Leigh, who considers herself to be a severe internet addict, spends the majority of her day online. She aimlessly browses Facebook, then Twitter, and talks to her friends via Msn Messenger, and continues this cycle throughout her day to gain social satisfaction. Leigh uses these websites to interact with her friends and family. Leigh’s addiction affects her day to day life, and has even had to cut down her hours at work so that she can spend more of her time in the internet resulting in her struggling to pay her rent.

“On a daily basis I religiously check all of my internet accounts including Facebook, Twitter, Googlemail and Hotmail. I do my banking online and my shopping online. When I am really struggling for money I sell my belongings via Ebay” says Leigh. “Everything I need, I can do online. I can book train tickets, holidays and do all my shopping on line” Leigh continues. “When I am not on my laptop I connect to the internet using my mobile phone. I take it everywhere so that I can use the internet wherever I go!” Leigh sees nothing wrong with her habits, which is a common problem Internet habits have. They see their habits as normal.

Leigh owes her bank £2,000 as she had to take out an overdraft when she cut her working hours in order to spend more time on the internet. But worryingly this does not worry Leigh. “I admit, it is costing me a fortune, but most young people these days have debts.”

Stay-at-home mums and students are typically the people most likely to be affected by an online addiction as they have the most time on their hands and the ease of access in their favour. Students cooped up in their rooms when they are supposed to be studying, and mums stuck at home feel the need for attention and social interaction. The more time they spend online, the more likely they are to develop other addictions such as online gambling, anxiety, or even depression.

Leigh’s mother, Shirley Green, a beautician is very concerned over Leigh’s Internet addiction and blames herself for letting her daughter spend so much time on her computer when she was a teenager. “Leigh used to be such an outgoing person, and now she’s a recluse. I hardly see her these days as she’s constantly in her flat on the internet. The only way I can speak to her is via the internet” says Ms. Green. “I am worried about the psychological affects this addiction could be having on my daughter. I have noticed a change in her over recent years and I fear it’s my fault. When Leigh was a teenager, she’d come home from school and go straight on the computer, always telling me it was for her homework. Looking back now, in hindsight, I wish I’d have limited and supervised her time online, as it has lead to this time problems now. ”

Losing track of time whilst online is common problem which can occur. Leigh has been known to spend up to six hours at a time online without noticing. “I go online with the intention of just checking my emails and before I know it, six hours has passed” she says.

Leigh’s mother is speaking out now as she wants to warn other parents about the dangers of such an addiction. “I would have liked to have been warned back then that this could have happened to my daughter back when she was younger and have stopped this from happened. I have virtually lost my happy, outgoing daughter. Leigh is now shy and withdrawn when she does go out; which isn’t very often.”

“I would strongly advise that parents with children of all ages restrict their internet usage, and supervise them whilst they are surfing the net, whilst the internet is a great tool which is fun to use, it can cause serious problems which can change a person’s life.”

[1] www.twitter.com/edballs4mp

Leave a comment